PUCE MOMENT
Nicolas Devos & Pénélope Michel

Gradueted of fine Arts school and The Fresnoy, national studio of contemporary arts for one and  a university and musical course for the other, Nicolas Devos and Penelope Michel founded the experimental electro-rock band CERCUEIL in 2005, project with which they toured in France and abroad. At the same time they created PUCE MOMENT, a project envisaged as a laboratory open to experimentation, multi-disciplinary meeting and decompartmentalization.

They have been working together for more than fifteen years around protean projects whose main theme is the relation of sound to image and the conditions of emergence of the narration and its perception. Their musical practice is mutant, it can be written or improvised, vocal, instrumental, electronic or electroacoustic, depending on the framework of the projects, from scenic creations, live soundtracks, sound and visual creations, performances, or through their collaborations.

By appealing to the collective memory, they convoke through their past and contemporary mythical and mythological figures. Their plastic and sensory approach to sound leads them to design immersive devices. Their first show between installation-cinema-concert and performance La Lenteur is based on the process of crossed writing. Created more recently in March 2017, Crumbling Land is a “contemporary” opera project for two opera singers in an interactive sound and visual device that responds to real-time solar wind movements as seen from the Geophysics Observatory. of Sodankylä in Finnish Lapland.

They have created solo and / or duet many musical films and sound and visual performances on the principle of diversion and collage but also from their own scripted and realized images. Together, they realize the graphic universe, videos and artwork of their Coffin and Moment Puce projects, as well as a visual scenic device for each of them dedicated to the live, from projections of video-images and video-lights. in multi-diffusion.

They composed the original tapes of more than a dozen fiction or documentary films in varying formats (Benjamin Nuel, Frédéric Touchard, Laurent Pernot, Carolina Gonçalves) or in the form of film concerts. Since 2012 they have been touring France and Europe with David Lynch’s cult film EraserHead. In December 2017, they created a new film-concert project on Tod Browning’s film Freaks.

They appear punctually at the theater (Anne Monfort, Anne Conti, Florence Evrard) and compose for the dance. Since 2012 they have collaborated with the choreographer Christian Rizzo (From Nature creation in the spring of 2018 in Rivesaltes, next door in 2017, before last night in 2016, Ian Syndrome in 2016, Ad Noctum in 2015, what to keep up ‘In the shade in 2013, Néofiction in 2012), and choreographer Mylène Benoît (The Blindness in 2018, The Blindness in 2016, Our Dance in 2014). Whether recorded or played live, music created for dance is a creative space for experimentation and renewal.

PUCE MOMENT
Nicolas Devos & Pénélope Michel

Formés aux Beaux-Arts et au Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains pour l’un et via un parcours universitaire et musical pour l’autre, Nicolas Devos et Pénélope Michel fondent le groupe électro-rock expérimental CERCUEIL en 2005 projet avec lequel ils tournent en France et à l’international. Parallèlement ils créent PUCE MOMENT, projet envisagé comme un laboratoire ouvert à l’expérimentation, à la rencontre pluri-disciplinaire et au décloisonnement.

Ils travaillent ensemble depuis plus d’une quinzaine d’années autour de projets protéiformes qui ont pour fil conducteur le rapport du son à l’image et les conditions d’émergences de la narration et de sa perception. Leur pratique musicale est mutante, elle peut être écrite ou improvisée, vocale, instrumentale, électronique ou électroacoustique, en fonction du cadre des projets qu’ils mènent sous la forme de créations scéniques, de ciné-concerts, de créations sonores et visuelles, d’installations, ou au travers de leurs collaborations.

En faisant appel à la mémoire collective, ils convoquent à travers leurs réalisations figures mythiques et mythologiques passés et contemporaines. Leur approche plastique et sensorielle du son les amènent à concevoir des dispositifs immersifs. Leur premier spectacle entre installation-ciné-concert et performance La Lenteur repose sur le processus d’écritures croisées. Créé plus récemment en mars 2017, Crumbling Land est un projet d’opéra « contemporain » pour deux chanteuses lyriques dans un dispositif interactif sonore et visuel réagissant aux mouvements des vents solaires en temps réel tels qu’ils sont observés depuis l’observatoire de géophysique de Sodankylä en Laponie finlandaise.

Ils ont créé en solo et/ou en duo de nombreux films musicaux et de performances sonores et visuelles sur le principe du détournement et du collage mais aussi à partir de leurs propres images scénarisées et réalisées. Ils réalisent ensemble l’univers graphique, vidéos et artwork de leurs projets Cercueil et Puce Moment, ainsi qu’un dispositif scénique visuel pour chacun d’entre eux dédié au live, à partir de projections d’images-vidéo et de vidéos-lumières en multi-diffusion.

Ils ont composé les bandes-originales de plus d’une dizaine de films de fiction ou documentaires aux formats variables (Benjamin Nuel, Frédéric Touchard, Laurent Pernot, Carolina Gonçalves) ou encore sous la forme de ciné-concerts. Depuis 2012 ils tournent en France et en Europe avec le film culte de David Lynch EraserHead. En décembre 2017, ils ont créé un nouveau projet de ciné-concert sur le film Freaks de Tod Browning.

Ils apparaissent ponctuellement au théâtre (Anne Monfort, Anne Conti, Florence Evrard) et composent pour la danse. Depuis 2012 ils collaborent avec le chorégraphe Christian Rizzo (D’après Nature création au printemps 2018 à Rivesaltes, D’à côté en 2017, Avant la nuit dernière en 2016, le Syndrôme Ian en 2016, Ad Noctum en 2015, De quoi tenir jusqu’à l’ombre en 2013, Néofiction en 2012), et la chorégraphe Mylène Benoît (La Maladresse en 2018, L’Aveuglement en 2016, Notre Danse en 2014). Quelle soit enregistrée ou jouée en live, la musique créée pour la danse se découvre un espace créatif propice à l’expérimentation et au renouvellement.